Advisory board
• John Perry Barlow
• Gordon Bell
• Maria Bezaitis
• Peter Cochrane
• Eric Haseltine
• Mike Hawley
Ken Hertz
• Krisztina Holly
Alan Kay
• Len Kleinrock
• Doug Lenat
Ellen Levy
• Bob Lucky
• Nicholas Negroponte
• David Reed
• Eben Upton

Dr. Alan Kay is one of the pioneers of object-oriented programming, personal computing, and graphical user interfaces. For this work, Dr. Kay has received the Draper Prize from the National Academy of Engineering, the Turing Award from the Association of Computing Machinery, and the Kyoto Prize from the Inamori Foundation. Alan has been elected a fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Royal Society of Arts, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the Computer History Museum. His other honors include the ACM Systems Software Award, the NEC Computers & Communication Foundation Prize, and numerous honorary doctorates. Alan has held fellow positions at HP, Disney, Apple, and Xerox, and has served as the chief scientist at Atari. He is an adjunct professor of computer science at UCLA and an advisor to One Laptop per Child. At Viewpoints Research, Alan also continues his work with "powerful ideas education" for the world's children, as well as the development of advanced personal computers and networking systems.
Alan Kay
President and Founder
Viewpoints Research Institute
home about us activities and deliverables contact faqs copyright