Advisory board
• John Perry Barlow
• Gordon Bell
• Maria Bezaitis
• Peter Cochrane
• Eric Haseltine
• Mike Hawley
Ken Hertz
• Krisztina Holly
• Alan Kay
Len Kleinrock
• Doug Lenat
Ellen Levy
• Bob Lucky
• Nicholas Negroponte
• David Reed
• Eben Upton

Dr. Len Kleinrock is considered one of the fathers of the Internet, having created the mathematical theory of packet switching, the technology underpinning the Internet. Dr. Kleinrock's host computer at UCLA became the first node of the Internet in September 1969, and a month later he directed the transmission of the first message to pass over the Internet. As a professor of computer science at UCLA, Len has long worked on the frontier of technology; his interests include packet networks, nomadic computing, self-organizing systems, wireless networks, and peer-to-peer systems. He is the chairman of TTI/Vanguard, and he founded the Technology Transfer Institute, Linkabit Corporation, and Nomadix. Len is a fellow of the ACM, the IEEE, INFORMS, and the IEC, and a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. His awards include the 2007 National Medal of Science, the National Academy of Engineering's Draper Prize, the L.M. Ericsson Prize, the Marconi International Fellowship Award, the NEC Computers & Communication Foundation Prize, the Okawa Prize, and the IEEE Alexander Graham Bell Medal. Len has written six books and more than 250 professional papers, and he has supervised the research of 48 Ph.D. graduates.
Len Kleinrock
Professor, Computer Science
home about us activities and deliverables contact faqs copyright